While pondering this I was also thinking about zombies, because I am always thinking about zombies. Last night I thought I heard a moan outside my window, a zombie moan. So I started playing a game of what would I do if zombies attacked right now and I decided I would probably be screwed because I was not up for a zombie fight and I didn't have either of my other zombie expert friends around. Also I decided I needed to get my foid card and a gun and/or an axe, preferably a lightweight axe.
![]() |
| Robert S. Zombie Expert |
![]() |
| Phillip G Zombie Expert |
On my way to school I realized because of the traffic it had taken me 5 minutes to get less than a mile from my apartment. This would be acceptable if I lived in a real city and not a college town. I thought this would be a time when it would be nice if there were not so many people on this planet, I wasn't thinking about zombies in particular but that is where this is going.
So back to colonialism and breaking away from an establishment. I realized that there was really no where left on this earth that has not been claimed or if it has not been officially claimed then 2 or more countries are arguing over it. Also here in this great/messed up country we live in we can own land but we can't create our own laws, we still have to answer to the Man. Yeah it is the same Man our parents answered to, he just got a face-lift and a new suit and he sometimes wears drag, but he looks good. Oh yeah and the Man never dies, not even zombies...
Sure we can create rules and apply them as we like, but some major stuff is up to the Man.
Flashback to Zombies
![]() |
| My shirt says I won't back down and it is true. |
Okay we fear zombies because they are living things that come back to life and want to eat us and then we die and turn into zombies. So I just named 4 things that we fear in that sentence.
People like being scared, go to the movies, a bookstore or hey if you really want to get scared watch the news!
Zombies scare us and people are cashing in on that.
So do you think it would be cool if a zombie apocalypse happened but you survived?
Let me clarify, I don't want this to happen, because I would inevitably be in the worst place possible when it did, but in theory I think it would be cool...if it happened like it does in the movies and I get to be the lead girl with some super hot but still sensitive straight guy as my partner in zombie killing badassedness.
Why do I think this would be cool? No rules! Whoever survives the zombie apocalypse is essentially the MAN!
You get to start the whole world over and better, you don't have to answer to anyone.
I am on Wikipedia (alot) and once I was on the zombie apocalypse page and I saw this quote from a 2006 interview with Max Brooks Author of The Zombie Survival Guide (Which yeah I do own and it has real zombie blood on the inside) and also son of the great Mel Brooks.
Full interview here!
http://www.aintitcool.com/node/30038
When asked do you think it is possible zombies could take over he responded:
"I don't know what's scarier, the fact that zombies could rise or the fact there are actually people out there that can't wait for it to happen. So they can just start loading up with guns and get on their motorcycles..."
I get this! It makes sense to me, we all want to see what we could do to fix things. We want to star in our own action film and save the day! What if we were in charge? People love this story. The "Oh no! We are stranded somewhere/everyone else in the world is dead! Who will be in charge and how will it turn out?" story.
Just think about it. It doesn't have to make complete sense, but to me it does.
The notion of a zombie apocalypse or any apocalypse is romantic if you, yourself get to survive. That is my thesis...
Btw I don't think it will be zombies, I think it will be some type of ridiculous animal flu or maybe alien flu?




Thank you for including that I am, in fact, a zombie expert!
ReplyDelete